Bacchanalia – David Adickes

I met David Adickes at the George R Brown Arts and Craft Faire. Adickes is a big deal in Houston as is the Craft Faire, I guess. Houston is known nationally in the art world for its collectors. Galleries an Brokers from around the US come to this thing bringing their A game of tipping point artisans because they know we have the money and want to spend it. We have the money because we have the oil. Alaska may have it too, but they lack the metropolis culture.

Adickes is a sculptor. His claim to fame is building the largest sculpture in North Amica, the Sam Houston Memorial in Huntsville. I wave at Sammy anytime I leave Houston going north on 45 and ask his protection while I am traveling abroad. Adickes has also done the bust of every American president in 20ft stone. Originally it was a commission for the Arlington Cemetary, but they pulled the funding before they were put on the trucks and shipped to DC. Now they sit in a lot across from his studio on Summer street, right across from the building we have reserved for the Bacchanalia Naked Tuesday.

So, I told him all about Naked Tuesday. I told him we were expecting about a hundred folks to participate but that our expectations generally tend to be too low. I told him about the ritualistic Church of Melkrath’s dark metal. I told him about the invocations in unknown languages of Serum Fantis. I told him about Ak’Chamel considering themselves puppet masters rather than musicians. I told him about southmorehouse and I told him he should come.

“You need a mask to get in. We don’t care whatever else you wear if anything at all.”

He laughed and asked if my beautiful partner would be there. I told him yes and he asks me, “How much of this is true?”

I said, “90%”

He thought for a second. “if this is true, I want you to dance naked around my president heads.”

Consider it done.

Leave a Reply

