Working Real Hard Trying to Find a Job

In this tortured economy I am sure I am not alone in this plight. This is a message to all employers who wade through the countless resumes and online apps posted by potential new hires. This is for the Human Resources departments of the world calling references and past employers nonstop for positions needing fulfillment. This is for the Job Recruiters toiling to make ends meet for unknown people on both ends of the employment spectrum. That message is this: When the job is filled, take the notification down. Send out an email to everyone who applied that they gave it to another candidate.

The most frustrating aspect of the hunt is the unknown. Keep us informed. No news is not good news. No news is bleeding hope. No news means they might still be looking and you might still have a chance. It is the girl who never returns your phonecalls to tell you she already has a boyfriend. It is the publisher you sent the manuscript that forgot to send it back with a maybe-in-a-future-publication letter. It is an AIDS test that the lab misplaced the results.

It does not matter if you absolutely know you have no sexually transmitted diseases because your last year of partners have been yourself, you still worry. Why? It is the uncontrollable unknown. Everybody hates the uncontrollable unknown especially when commingled with desire. No matter how often we go where the wind blows us, there is still a certain bit of steering the kite or boat or whatever metaphor you think is applicable here. I knew a hippie girl once who gave her entire life to God. She probably had lice and would not take medication to get rid of it. She said, “If God wants me to have lice, then I guess I will have lice.” This is extreme animal rights activism. Lice is life. She refused to kill it. She might be okay with the uncontrollable unknown. The rest of the world is not. I had lice once or at least I thought I did. I had long beautiful hair that got chopped down to the roots with a pair of craft scissors. I put so much RID in it that it shocked the remaining follicles into thick, unmanageable spikes. I no longer cared. I did not have lice.I took whatever measures necessary to control the situation. With a job search you cannot be so proactive. You have to wait for the results that might not ever come.

So to all of those people in those positions of control, keep us informed, because it just keeps getting tougher every day.

One Response to “Working Real Hard Trying to Find a Job”

  1. I completely understand what you are going through. Being recently laid off myself, it seems like all my resumes go into a black hole that no light ever escapes. Silence is the absolute worst. But I think you are going to drive yourself bonkers if you worry about what you can’t control. No matter what you or I do or say, there will always be hiring managers, companies and human resource departments that harbor personnel with incompetent communication and follow-up skills (how they got hired is beyond me). The best thing to do is network. If you have a LinkedIn profile, utilize it. If you don’t have one, get one. If you concentrate on the things that you can control, you will alleviate some frustration and in doing so, be able to move forward in your job search with a clear head. In the meantime try to fill up your downtime with a hobby or interest or whatever. Staying busy is key http://lifo9.wordpress.com/2010/05/26/lemonade-stand/

Leave a Reply

